Kentucky Political News Headlines

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

House Chairs

House Republican Majority Announces 2017-2018 Committee Chairs

FRANKFORT, Ky. (December 7, 2016) – Today, Kentucky's House Republican Majority Caucus announced its slate of members poised to chair House committees for the 2017-2018 sessions of the Kentucky General Assembly.

Standing Committees:

Agriculture: Richard Heath, Mayfield

Appropriations & Revenue: Steven Rudy, Paducah

Banking & Insurance: Bart Rowland, Tompkinsville

Economic Development & Workforce Investment: Jim DeCesare, Bowling Green

Education: John Carney, Campbellsville

Elections, Constitutional Amendments & Intergovernmental Affairs: Kenny Imes, Murray

Enrollment: Donna Mayfield, Winchester

Heath & Family Services: Addia Wuchner, Florence

Judiciary: Joe Fischer, Ft. Thomas

Licensing, Occupations & Administrative Regulations: Adam Koenig, Erlanger

Local Government: Michael Lee Meredith, Brownsville

Natural Resources & Energy: Jim Gooch, Providence

Small Business & Information Technology: Diane St. Onge, Lakeside Park

State Government: Jerry T. Miller, Eastwood

Tourism & Outdoor Recreation: Tommy Turner, Somerset

Transportation: Marie Rader, Mckee

Veterans, Military Affairs & Public Protection: Tim Moore, Elizabethtown

Budget Review Sub Committees:

Economy, Public Protection, Tourism & Energy: Jill York, Grayson

Personnel, Public Retirement & Finance: Brian Linder, Dry Ridge

General Government (Including Coal Severance): Suzanne Miles, Owensboro

Justice, Public Safety & Judiciary: Jason Nemes, Louisville

Primary/Secondary Education & Workforce Development: Regina Bunch, Williamsburg

PostSecondary Education: James Tipton, Taylorsville

Transportation: Sal Santoro, Florence

Health & Family Services: Russell Webber, Shepherdsville

Statutory Committees:

Administrative Regulation Review: Ken Upchurch, Monticello

Government Contract Review: Stan Lee, Lexington

Program Review & Investigations: Lynn Bechler, Marion

Capital Planning Advisory Board: Daniel Elliott, Danville

Capital Projects & Bond Oversight: Phil Moffett, Louisville

Public Pension Oversight: Brian Linder, Dry Ridge

Tobacco Settlement Oversight: Myron Dossett, Pembroke

Education Assessment & Accountability Review: Daniel Elliott, Danville

Medicaid Oversight & Advisory: Kim Moser, Taylor Mill

Special Committees & Task Forces

LRC Committee on Tourism & Development: Ken Upchurch, Monticello

Special Subcommittee on Energy: Tim Couch, Hyden

Federal Environment Regulation Impact Assessment Task Force: Tim Couch, Hyden

Free-Roaming Horse Task Force: John Blanton, Salyersville

Government Nonprofit Contracting Task Force: Brandon Reed, Hodgenville

Heroin Task Force: Danny Bentley, Russell

Workers' Compensation Task Force: Matt Castlen, Maceo

"House committee leadership reflects sound geographic diversity and robust experience in every area, which positions every Kentuckian to benefit from thoughtful, clear direction in lawmaking," said Speaker-Elect Jeff Hoover. "Our caucus approached committee chairs with deliberation to ensure each and every issue facing the Commonwealth gets the most thorough review possible. Our caucus is composed of a well-rounded group, and I think that's represented with these committee chair selections."

Under the new Republican majority, some changes in committee structure will occur to allow for streamlining.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.