Kentucky Political News Headlines

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

KY Primary Election Results

2024 Primary Election Results

Kentuckians went to the polls today to determine party nominees for November elections for offices ranging from President to state legislators. In some instances, there is no challenger in November, and the outcome of today's election will determine who holds the office. As of this writing, turnout percentages were not available, but it appears voter turnout was low, which likely impacted some races.

Key takeaways from tonight's election results:

- No surprises in the federal races. All Congressional incumbents won, and both President Biden and former President Trump are the respective party nominees for President of the United States.

- In total, three incumbents in the state legislature lost their seats: Two House members (Heath and Timoney) and one Senate member (Southworth).

- "Liberty" caucus candidates' success was mixed. They performed well in Northern Kentucky and knocked off two House incumbents in West and Central KY, but lost by wide margins in other races.

House Results of Note (All House primary election results can be found on this spreadsheet)

House District 2 (Graves & part of McCracken): In a rematch from 2022, incumbent Richard Heath lost his seat to Kim Holloway, a guidance counselor. Heath currently chairs the House Agriculture Committee, which will create an open chairmanship for the next session.

House District 19 (Edmonson & part of Warren): Incumbent Michael Meredith, chairman of the Banking & Insurance Committee, easily fended off a challenge from the right from Kelcey Rock, who was publicly backed by an outside liberty group.

House District 45 (part of Fayette and Jessamine): Incumbent Killian Timoney, a public school administrator, lost his seat to a challenger from his right in Thomas Jefferson, a political newcomer. Democrats think that this seat may now be competitive in November.

House District 64 (part of Kenton): Incumbent Kim Moser, chairwoman of the House Health Services Committee and a nurse by trade, fended off her challenge from Karen Campbell, a political newcomer who is a realtor.

House District 66 (part of Boone): This Northern Kentucky open seat was vacated by current Rep. Steve Rawlings, and pitted former Rep. Ed Massey, an attorney, against T.J. Roberts, a political activist and attorney. Roberts, a liberty candidate, won by a large margin.  

House District 91 (Estill, Powell, part of Madison): Incumbent BIll Wesley, a chaplain, held off a challenge from Darrell Billings, a farmer and small business owner.

Senate Results of Note: (All Senate primary election results can be found on this spreadsheet)

Senate District 1: Incumbent Jason Howell, chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, successfully defeated his challenge from former state representative Lynn Bechler. 

Senate District 5: Incumbent Steve Meredith, chairman of the Senate Health Services Committee and a retired hospital administrator, defeated political newcomer Thomas Ballinger. 

Senate District 7: Incumbent Adrienne Southworth lost her seat and came in third to Aaron Reed, who narrowly defeated Ed Gallrein, who came in second.

Senate District 17: A seat left open by the retirement of Senate Majority Floor Leader Damon Thayer, Matt Nunn, a Toyota employee, won the GOP primary over Julia Jaddock, a small business owner. 

Senate District 29: Senator Johnnie Turner, an attorney, handily defeated two primary challengers to retain this seat that is in the Eastern KY coalfields.

Senate District 33: Longtime incumbent Senator Gerald Neal won a three-way Democratic primary, fending off a challenge by Attica Scott, a former House member and congressional primary candidate.

Please note that these are still considered unofficial, incomplete results until certified by the Secretary of State's office. For exact numbers on each race, please visit the Kentucky Secretary of State's website for official results.


Please don't hesitate to reach out to us with questions and stay tuned for our upcoming 2024 Interim Preview.

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

KY Legislative Update - Sine Die

Sine Die Adjournment

The Kentucky General Assembly adjourned the 2024 Regular Session sine die shortly after 8:30 pm this evening. Day 60 of this 60-day budget session saw significant legislative activity that includes, but is not limited to, the following bills being delivered to the Governor before adjournment:

- SB 91: Amended from its original purpose of a remote KSP driver training program to include cleanup and technical corrections to HB 6 (state budget) & HB 1 (one-time appropriations bill).

- HB 122: Cleanup legislation for HB 8, the revenue bill, which includes language related to PVA's, tax changes impacting pipelines, and exempting some small EV charging stations from the definition of EV power dealer.

- SB 107: A Transportation Cabinet housekeeping bill amended to include the provisions of HB 19 and HB 193

- HB 13: Kentucky Product Development Initiative Reauthorization.

- HB 829: Legislation implementing last year's medical marijuana bill that will go live in January 2025.  

- HB 190: Legislation cleaning up SB 188 (PBM reform) that was passed earlier this session.

- HB 162: The Numeracy Counts legislation to improve math instruction in early grades. 

- HB 499: Reform to career technical education and funding.

- HB 580: Elections reform and cleanup legislation.

The Senate also passed several resolutions confirming gubernatorial appointments, including those of Commissioner of Education Robbie Fletcher, Commissioner of Insurance Sharon Clark, Public Service Commissioner Mary Pat Reagan, and Commissioner of Workers Claims Scott Wilhoit.

As noted previously, we will send a full session wrap-up report later this week.

As always, please don't hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns. We appreciate your partnership in Frankfort this legislative session.